Introducing … The Sober School

Hello there! Long time no see! I’d like to apologise for abandoning my blog without explanation. Have no fear, I didn’t disappear because something bad happened. Quite the opposite. I was busy being sober and happy – drinking tea, eating cake, catching up with old friends, making new friends, going out with my running club, trying new hobbies, starting new jobs and all sorts of other lovely stuff. I’ve been sober for 843 days now and I really am so happy with life. I don’t take my sobriety for granted but it’s pretty much become second nature now. In fact it all became so normal that I felt I didn’t have much to say … until now.

I wanted to let you know about a new project that I’ve been working on. Ever since I got sober I’ve been telling anyone who’ll listen that there should be more help for people like me. Bright, professional women who know they’re drinking too much but just can’t seem to get out of the alcohol trap. Women who can’t bring themselves to tell their doctor how much they really drink but don’t fancy going to AA. Women who want to lose the booze, but not their social life – who desperately want to stop drinking, but can’t quite work out how to stay stopped.

Whilst the sober blogosphere is great, it’s quite a hidden corner of the internet. It took me a good few years of searching for help before I stumbled across the blogs that made such a difference to me. I wanted to create something more mainstream. I wanted to create the website that I wish had existed when I was trying to stop drinking. Something that talked about alcohol addiction in a relatable way, providing help and advice without being patronising.

So I decided to set up this: thesoberschool.com

It’s a little space online where you can find inspiration to help you stop drinking and achieve wonderful things. I have a new blog over there, plus some help and advice pages. I’m in the middle of training to be coach, because my plan is to create a course that guides sober wannabes through the first few important weeks of their alcohol free life.

There are also quite a few pictures of me on there, so if you want to put a face to a name have a look…

It’s an exciting and nerve wracking time. I’ve done something that once seemed unthinkable – outing myself to the world. I’ve reduced my hours at work and told my employers what I’m doing. I’ve also had to be really honest with friends. Until recently, even those in the know had only heard a sanitised version of my drinking story. There are still a lot of people in my life who don’t know everything yet, but I will tell them in due course.

So far the response has been brilliant. And I really hope it will all make a difference. I try not to sound too much like a preachy reformed drinker, but I really believe something big needs to change in our society. It shouldn’t be this hard to talk about being addicted to alcohol. We have no problem talking about smoking in these terms, do we?

This will be my last post on this blog. So if you want to follow my new blog, please do head on over to thesoberschool.com

I’m also on Facebook  Twitter and Instagram

Phew. That’s all for now.

Lots of love,

Kate
The Sober School Sub Mark 2
Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Introducing … The Sober School

  1. Heya, Monster. July 19, 2015 at 4:17 pm Reply

    Congratulations, Kate! What a huge and awesome endeavor. Love the site. Good luck as you continue on with this outreach work. How cool!

  2. Vida005 July 19, 2015 at 7:54 pm Reply

    Hi Kate – that is just great and just what i need too – am 7 weeks sober and its been a bit up and down! Congratulations – I’ve read your blog since you started writing it and was worried when you vanished – what a great way to pop up again!

  3. Chris Highcock July 19, 2015 at 9:12 pm Reply

    Is the sober school only for women Kate? As a man I’ve found your writings very helpful

    • soberjournalist July 21, 2015 at 12:03 am Reply

      Hi Chris – it’s definitely aimed at women but men are allowed in, if you can cope with the girly pink and glitter 😉

      • Chris Highcock July 21, 2015 at 7:52 am

        Thanks. All the best with it.

  4. leavethefade July 19, 2015 at 9:49 pm Reply

    Congratulations!!!

  5. littlemsjones July 20, 2015 at 3:01 am Reply

    The site looks fantastic. Well done! Your blog was the very first sober blog I ever read and it opened my eyes so much.

  6. mark S July 20, 2015 at 10:16 am Reply

    Congratulations on your new venture
    I’m sure it will be a great success as was your blog I,m now 18 months sober and I have your blog to thank for getting through the darkest days it was a real inspiration.

    If I can be of any help just ask or I would be willing to share my sober journey if it help in any way

    Thank-you

    Mark

    • soberjournalist July 21, 2015 at 12:04 am Reply

      Thanks Mark, that means a lot. Great to hear you’re doing so well. K

  7. Odysseus300 July 20, 2015 at 10:55 am Reply

    Might be of interest to your sister…? Defo worth checking out

  8. ainsobriety July 20, 2015 at 4:25 pm Reply

    I think that’s a wonderful endeavour.

  9. Sherry July 20, 2015 at 5:48 pm Reply

    Brilliant!!!! I just poked around a bit on your sight and I can honestly say that I wish this site had been around when I quit. I just love it.

    If it’s alright, I’m going to list it on the “resource” page of my blog.

    Awesome!
    Sherry

  10. MareBear July 20, 2015 at 7:09 pm Reply

    I was so stoked to see a post from you in my inbox. And even happier to see what you’ve done! Congrats! Yours was the first blog I read when I got sober and I’m so thankful I found it! 421 days sober and loving it. Best of luck to you! You have so much inspiration to give, so keep on going! Will follow you at your new home!

  11. anathu July 20, 2015 at 11:42 pm Reply

    Hey, good luck with your venture, it really does look great! Can I just say something though? The pictures that are attached to the articles at you sober school are very triggering. There’s the lush glass of red wine on one, a collection of crisp glasses of Prosecco on another. They are beautiful pictures but they make me want to run off to the off license… And if I feel like that, maybe others do too, especially in early recovery. Or I’m just a really BAD case lol. Anyway, the article contents are great and I relate to a lot of the things you write about. Looking forward to more posts.

  12. byebyebeer July 22, 2015 at 4:03 pm Reply

    Hooray! Congratulations on your new project and lovely site! So nice to read your update.

  13. Lilly July 23, 2015 at 8:48 am Reply

    OMG! I am so, so, so excited that you are finally doing this!

    Sorry I have been AWOL here, email, FB – you have an idea why. But I’m getting back on track (and on wagon) with my my life again.

    Am so proud of you and excited to check this out!

    Lilly x

  14. Christy Anna Beguins July 24, 2015 at 3:21 am Reply

    Congratulations, Kate! I can’t wait to check out your new venture. Wonderful news!

  15. Anonymous September 15, 2015 at 1:18 pm Reply

    “Hey Kate,
    Nice to hear about your new site- thanks for sharing with us! Such a lovely and awesome website. Keep in touch.”

  16. gitrapp September 15, 2015 at 1:18 pm Reply

    “Hey Kate,
    Nice to hear about your new site- thanks for sharing with us! Such a lovely and awesome website. Keep in touch.”

  17. Kathleen November 1, 2015 at 11:34 pm Reply

    I love the idea of The Sober School! It’s such a struggle. I think of myself as someone who doesn’t drink because I can’t. I can’t stop and I’ve vowed to stay away. Please check out my site. I’m trying to connect with others who have the same struggles. Stay well!

  18. Kathleen November 1, 2015 at 11:35 pm Reply

    I love the idea of The Sober School! It’s such a struggle. I think of myself as someone who doesn’t drink because I can’t. I can’t stop and I’ve vowed to stay away. Please check out my site. Momslosthermind.com. I’m trying to connect with others who have the same struggles. Stay well!

  19. Randel McMurphy November 2, 2015 at 7:23 pm Reply

    Love your blog, I’m in recovery too. I have come so far. Please check out my blog, which i manage at an outpatient detox clinic. Much Love http://www.newbridgerecovery.com/blog/

  20. Girlisback December 4, 2015 at 4:01 pm Reply

    Hello! I love your blog. I am 5 days sober and have been reading your entries from the beginning. Amazing how we all go through such similar things – right down to the small details….It’s so helpful to know we aren’t alone. I wanted to pop on today to share a heavy thought. Through the past few days I’ve been of course been doing a lot of thinking about addiction and randomly Scott Weiland from Stone Temple Pilots popped into my head yesterday as I was washing dishes. I’m 42 and so remember when that band was really popular. I also remember when he got sober for a bit and made an upbeat song that was criticized for not sounding edgy enough. People were saying things like, he should get back on the sauce because his music sucks now. I just kind of gave his situation a few seconds of thought and had a twinge of sadness for him because I had read here and there that he had subsequently fallen of the wagon. So I wake up this morning to the news that he is dead at 48 years old. I was so saddened. I obviously don’t know him and I wasn’t even really into that band. But why did I think of him yesterday completely out of the blue? Are we all somehow connected? Anyway, it felt worth a mention and I wanted to share my grief for this person in a forum where people would probably understand. I am happy to be sober today and will think of him and all of you guys as I go about trying to stay that way.

  21. Danielle January 20, 2016 at 1:45 am Reply

    Help

  22. paul January 22, 2016 at 6:17 am Reply

    Very educative article, developing new coping strategies. . Those who attend a rehab will usually devote a great deal of time to finding out about new coping strategies and testing these out.

  23. Anonymous February 12, 2016 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Well good luck with your new blog and I hope you don’t drop any of your other sober contacts ,as I see you are concentrating more on the female alcoholic. I am now around 40 years sober. I don’t get out to meetings unless it is a special occasion, but I still keep in touch with people whom I may have sponsored or had other contact with in the past AA life to sort of guard against complacency.

  24. dazlittle December 23, 2016 at 10:06 am Reply

    Love your site, I’m 6 months sober its nice to read about other people’s experiences.
    Thanks for the insight.

Leave a Reply

