Hello from Kenya

Just thought I’d write a quick update to let you know the latest from me. It’s been a while since my last post because I had a busy week or so getting ready to come on holiday.

Below is the view from my balcony. I’m finally here, near Malindi in Kenya, doing a holiday that I started saving for right after I decided to stop drinking. I can’t claim it’s been entirely funded by booze money but not drinking has played a huge role in getting me here.

This is a holiday of two parts: firstly a fitness break on the coast and later a safari in the Masai Mara. I’m half way through the fitness bit. It’s not a bootcamp by any means (there’s no yelling and no one is forced to do anything) but it’s fair to say every bit of my body aches! The food is super healthy but delicious – lots of fresh fruit, fish and veg. Last night we had chocolate mousse made from cocoa and avocado (weird I know) but honestly, it tasted like the real deal.

I got into fitness holidays whilst I was still drinking as I knew I needed to give my body a break. I never had any problems stopping whilst I was away and I always came back feeling amazing, determined not to let my good habits slip… But within a day or two I’d have found a reason to drink again. So it’s nice to come away this time knowing I’m not running away from anything (apart from a bit of a sugar addiction)

I’ve spent the last few days running, climbing, swinging from monkey bars and swimming. In fact yesterday we swam 3.8km out to an island. To a runner like me, a few km didn’t sound that far but it really was! I thought about giving up half way through but pride wouldn’t let me. Plus we were in the middle of the sea, so quitting wasn’t really an option…

I thought that whilst I was away I’d have a break from blogging and even thinking about sober stuff, but it hasn’t worked out that way. I couldn’t believe it when I got on the plane and ended up sat next to a man reading a book called ‘I Need To Stop Drinking’. (I was reading his kindle out of the corner of my eye). It looked a good book, from what I could read. Then, when the air hostess came round guess what he ordered? A glass of wine! I smiled to myself because I for one read plenty of those kind of books whilst still drinking. I really wanted to say something and had to resist the urge to launch into a big ‘you can do it!’ type speech.

Three flights and a two hour taxi ride later I arrived at the hotel to meet the other people doing the same fitness course. As we’re chatting one of the guys tells me he’s not had a drink for two weeks in preparation for the course. I nod in agreement but don’t say anything. Then, without prompting, he starts to tell me how he thinks he drinks too much. How moderating is so hard, etc etc, and after a while it seemed weird not to tell him about my history. So there I am, jet lagged, in a foreign country, telling a complete stranger how I quit. He had lots of questions and being able to help him made me feel great. I felt like some kind of ambassador for the sober club.

The other funny thing about being here, in the middle of nowhere, is that I don’t have a phone signal most of the time, but I can get wifi! I’m trying not to check Facebook or my emails too much but it’s been great to know I can still read blogs. My support system is still in place.

After I leave here I really am going to the middle of nowhere, to a lodge powered by a generator for two hours a day. So my next post will probably be from England…

20130922-143328.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Hello from Kenya

  1. Drunky Drunk Girl September 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm Reply

    Enjoy every minute! It’s my dream to one day finally get to Africa (from the States, it seems sooooo far away). Congrats on the fitness goals–sounds like you’re doing a lot and it’s a really cool program. And, funny, isn’t it? About the sober reminders? It’s like, even IF you wanted to think about maybe drinking again, suddenly, you look around, and there is the universe, literally screaming at you, Don’t! And, here’s why! Have a great trip!!!

    • soberjournalist September 22, 2013 at 7:40 pm Reply

      Absolutely! The funny thing is that for so long I was looking for signs that it was ok to drink. Like I would watch a film and the main character would getting hammered every night and I’d think ‘ah ha! It IS ok!’ It sounds so lame now. But really the rest of the universe is saying “don’t drink”
      Africa is a heck of a long way but totally worth it – so if you get the opportunity, go!

  2. sober365days September 22, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

    I love your blog. It actually inspired me to start my own! Hope you are having a great trip and are far away from any of the violence in Kenya (the Nairobi mall news is awful!). By the looks of your posted photo, I am guessing you are! πŸ™‚

    • soberjournalist September 22, 2013 at 7:44 pm Reply

      Yes thankfully I am well away from there – it’s awful. I fly back through Nairobi later next week so fingers crossed that is fine. Thanks for your lovely comment.

  3. Lilly September 23, 2013 at 12:15 am Reply

    How wonderful – both the trip and the synchronicity. I’m glad you spoke up and told that guy your story. I remember when I was wrestling with on-off-on-off I randomly opened up to a couple of people about it out of nowhere. Goes to show how much it’s on your mind in that stage and you probably *really* helped/inspired him.

    And, funny, I’ve had my own wrestling thoughts about drinking just lately but reading this reminds me how horrible it is to be stuck in that stage where you want to but can’t and are at the same time desperately looking for reasons/excuses that it’s ok.

    Have a wonderful, wonderful sober vacation and just think how much better it will be when you’re in so much better shape from months of not drinking and you won’t be going home and immediately undoing all that good work. Africa – amazing!

    L xo

  4. carrieonsober September 23, 2013 at 6:57 am Reply

    Isn’t wonderfully liberating to be honest about our story like we can be with strangers! It helps to offload the actual truth. I really do admire you and your holiday choice is amazing, sounds incredible. And all that money put to such good use!! I have so much more cash now too…treats, treats, treats. How could a girl complain?! Have fun and stay safe.

  5. Christina September 23, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

    woooow enjoy! You are doing so great Kate! Continue on that path. Have fun.
    xxoo

  6. khaireideerslayers September 23, 2013 at 11:15 am Reply

    Wow this sounds absolutely amazing! You deserve this reward, I hope you really enjoy it, and I can’t wait to hear about the rest when you get back xxx

  7. MoonshineHigh September 24, 2013 at 2:22 pm Reply

    I have never heard of a fitness holiday but this sounds fun. I always wanted to go on a rock climbing holiday but never had the courage! It sounds so brilliant and you’re doing so well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

