Podcast suggestions, anyone?

The day I stopped drinking I started listening to podcasts about sobriety and recovery.

I’ve found them a huge help. I listen to them on my way to work. I listen whilst I’m cooking or cleaning or even doing my supermarket shop. I enjoy them and it seems like a great way of squeezing a bit of recovery work into my day.

The problem is, I’m running out them.

I started out listening to The Bubble Hour and it remains my favourite. The mix of topics is great and I really like the hosts Ellie, Amanda and Lisa. I can relate to them. In fact I only started looking for other podcasts a few weeks ago, when they took a bit of a summer break – recording podcasts once a fortnight and re-broadcasting old episodes every other week. 

I soon found After Party Pod – a podcast hosted by Anna David, who set up the website After Party Chat. She interviews actors and comedians who’ve got clean and sober. The general vibe is let’s-talk-to-cool-and-successful-sober-people and I really like that. It’s the kind of attitude I need in my life right now! The only thing that niggles me is that they often go quite off topic. I prefer them to stay with the nitty gritty of what happened – I want technicolor detail on why they got sober and how. The rest of the website is great too. If you have a spare few minutes watch the video ‘Sh*t normies say to 12-steppers’ – it made me smile: http://afterpartychat.com/videos/

My most recent download was Online Recovery Support Radio but I don’t think it’s my cup of tea. Hosted by Kurt Swensen, it’s very heavy and super-serious.

I was wondering today if my desire for more stuff to listen to is a sign that I should go back to AA meetings. It probably is. Somehow they just slipped out of my regular routine, but as I didn’t go to AA right from the start I don’t feel too worried about it. Whilst my life is crazy busy with work and a hundred and one other things, I’m not going to beat myself up at about it. But I do want to make sure I’ve got plenty of other stuff to listen to.

So – has anyone got any other suggestions or favourite podcasts you’d like to share?

Kate x

41 thoughts on “Podcast suggestions, anyone?

  1. Runningfromthebooze August 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm Reply

    All I knew about was The Bubble Hour. Thanks for the After Party Pod link!

  2. runningonsober August 27, 2013 at 2:23 am Reply

    Hey Kate, there are a few AA speaker podcasts, and Al-Anon too, out there that are really good. Just search AA speakers in iTunes or the web.

    My favorite is the Joe and Charlie Big Book study. You can download audio files here:
    http://www.silkworth.net/freestuff.html

    Also, Father Leo is a great speaker. He’s so funny. If you can find any of his stuff, I highly recommend him.

  3. carrythemessage August 27, 2013 at 5:15 am Reply

    To echo Christy, while not exactly podcasts, I do enjoy listening to AA speakers. http://www.xa-speakers.org is the big one to find hundreds if not thousands of speakers. I was listening to one tonight. But they’re not podcasts – anyway, gonna check out the Kurt one. I like the serious stuff:)

    Paul

    • soberjournalist August 27, 2013 at 9:09 am Reply

      Ha ha I know you like the serious stuff! The AA speakers sound good – gonna have a listen now.

  4. Lilly August 27, 2013 at 5:37 am Reply

    I’m glad you posted this selfishly cause I Love podcasts too. Unfortunately, I haven’t found any others I really like. I checked out a bunch early on that all had too much of a religious slant for me. Love to find some more. Will share if i stumble upon anything in the future. will definitely download after party now! Thanks.

    • soberjournalist August 27, 2013 at 9:34 pm Reply

      Yeah I’ve also found that quite a few of them have a heavy religious slant. Let me know how you get on with after party! Great name don’t you think?

  5. Rebecca A. Watson August 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Ditto what Lilly said. I hadn’t even thought to look for sober podcasts! I’m now happily knitting away and listening to the Bubble Hour. Thanks! I will let you know if I find anything as I look around.

    • soberjournalist August 27, 2013 at 9:35 pm Reply

      Ah I’m glad I introduced you to something new – hope you love the bubble hour as much as I do!

  6. annadavid August 28, 2013 at 1:43 am Reply

    Kate! Thank you so much for the kind words about AfterPartyChat. And ha I love that you think we go too much off topic…I mean, honestly, I don’t even know who’s listening so just the fact that you are and that you had feedback thrills me. And I’m definitely open to suggestions. The one I’m posting this week (Nic Sheff), we stay on the nitty gritty, I swear.

    • soberjournalist August 28, 2013 at 12:24 pm Reply

      Ha ha I will listen! As I am still in the first few months of sobriety I am particularly interested in how other people got sober, what made them do it, how they got though their first year etc… I imagine after a bit more sober time you get less obsessed with that and more interested in the bigger picture? I must say it’s really nice to hear from people who are successful and sober and proud of it – sometimes it feels like a bit of secret.

  7. Lilly August 28, 2013 at 12:13 pm Reply

    I listened to the latest APP and enjoyed it but agreed about the off track. And, without wishing to sound too super serious about it all, I want to hear stories about how people recovered and what their life is like now as a result, not anecdotes about their drinking/drugging days. Still, will check out some more of their podcasts and I’m liking the site too (yes, love the name). You probably know about thefix.com already? Similar kind of site.

  8. Lilly August 28, 2013 at 12:15 pm Reply

    Oh and that video – HA!!! Love. Bet we could all add a few to that.

    • soberjournalist August 28, 2013 at 12:28 pm Reply

      Honestly, next time someone says, “why don’t you just have one?” I will probably hit them round the head… Thanks for the fix suggestion – I’ll take a look.

  9. laskogirl79 August 30, 2013 at 2:21 am Reply

    i have tried and tried to find podcasts archives for this but no luck. Maybe you can figure it out? It’s from NPR, WBEZ Chicago. (U.s).
    Jim Nayder’s spotlight on odd songs became a staple on public radio stations. Nayder, who battled alcoholism, also produced ‘Magnificent Obsession,’ a weekly show about addiction.

  10. Lilly September 1, 2013 at 10:25 am Reply

    Hey! Got a new one for you! Recovery People – http://www.recoverypeople.org/

    Listened to a couple – they get expert speakers in on various topics re addiction and recovery. A bit of god stuff on the behalf of various speakers but not overwhelming. Worth a listen.

    I found this through either The Fix of After Party Chat but I can’t remember which now – on a page called Blogs. Liking the After Party stuff. Have you read Anna’s novel? That looks good too. Not on Kindle or would have downloaded but might have to order it.

    As for the ‘just have one’ comment, ha, me too. My response to this now, at least to people I can be bothered explaining even this much to, is: “If I were the sort of person who could easily just have one I wouldn’t have quit drinking because it wouldn’t have been a problem.”

    Duh.

  11. Anonymous September 26, 2013 at 8:47 pm Reply

    Trying to leave comments as me but having log in trouble — anyway, this is Anna David and the previous comment was too…

  12. Lilly September 26, 2013 at 11:57 pm Reply

    Hi Anna,

    Ah, I just worked out what it is.. I’m in Australia and not everything is available to us via Kindle so sometimes things look like they’re not on Kindle from my account when they are. Sorry for posting misinformation there!!

    Keep up the great work 🙂

    Lilly

  13. Dan March 23, 2014 at 7:46 pm Reply

    This site it good…best of luck…

  14. chrissincerightnow June 20, 2014 at 4:11 pm Reply

    Episode 1 of The Since Right Now Podcast (http://www.sincerightnow.com/pdcst/) will be out before the end of the month (June, 2014). I hope you check it out and let us know what you think. My cohost and I are two guys in long-term sobriety (14 and 17 years) he in AA me not. We hope to provide a fresh respectfully, irreverent take on supporting people in their sobriety. And, congratulations on your continued sobriety.

  15. themercerweave July 11, 2014 at 9:32 pm Reply

    I really enjoy http://recoveredcast.blogspot.com/ There are over 500 shows in the archive. Best of luck.

  16. Home Remodeling Companies Savannah GA August 21, 2014 at 7:46 pm Reply

    Hello there I am so glad I found your blog, I really
    found you by accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read more, Please do keep up the great work.

  17. Anonymous December 17, 2014 at 5:35 am Reply

    Try Shane Ramer “That Sober Guy” it’s a great podcast of a personal experience in the first year of sobriety.

  18. Chris December 17, 2014 at 5:54 am Reply

    Hey! I’m back to let you know we’re now up to Episode 22. We’ve now had multiple guests—including carrythemessage above. You can find Stream/Download options @ http://www.sincerightnow.com/pdcst

  19. […] there is all sorts of bloody amazing stuff out there! I went looking for sober podcasts and found this post from soberjournalist doing the same (thank […]

  20. Chris May 8, 2015 at 4:59 pm Reply

    Back again! We’re about to celebrate our first year. Would love you to join us for the second! http://www.sincerightnow.com/pdcst

  21. Bill S. July 21, 2015 at 5:16 pm Reply

    Thanks for this as I was just looking for similar suggestions, and it’s also good to meet a fellow sober journalist (mostly teaching now, but 20+ years in newspapers allows me to still claim the title). I’ll get a 15-year chip in Nov. Yes, I’m active in AA, but I’m not a big book thumper and think other methods work well, too. But I do believe in the power of the fellowship and hope you’ll give it another chance. Rare is the meeting where I don’t hear something relevant or useful. It’s all about progress and meetings help me with that.

  22. Chris September 30, 2015 at 8:16 pm Reply

    Back again!

    We have a new—and growing—network of Recovery Podcasts now!

    >>> http://SinceRightNow.Network <<<

    Here are some reviews of our flagship Since Right Now Addiction Recovery Podcast f. guests like Sarah Hepola, Brian Cuban, Sacha Z. Scoblic and more!

    "Anyone and everyone in recovery, a recovery ally, working in the recovery field or affected by addiction needs to listen to this podcast."—Ivana Grahovac, Exec. Dir of Transforming Youth Recovery

    "The best recovery podcast out there—bar none." @aaireland (an individual— not the org)

    "Jeff, Chris and Matt are my heroes." —@beckygetssober

  23. Mark Stapleton December 31, 2015 at 9:52 pm Reply

    This is Mark from the Recovered Podcast at http://recoveredcast.com We love listener feedback, so if there is anything you all would like us to cover, just let me know. We are a listener driven podcast and your recovery experience, strength, and hope is the backbone of our show.

  24. Lee Davy January 21, 2016 at 1:24 pm Reply

    You could check out my Alcohol & Addiction Podcast.

    Here is the link

    http://www.needyhelper.com/the-needy-helper-presents-podcasts/

    Regards

    Lee

  25. Kate January 26, 2016 at 8:56 am Reply

    I am not sure if you are still taking submissions but the Home Podcast is my very favorite thing.

    https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/home-podcast/id1021126077?mt=2

    Holly from ‘Hip Sobriety’ and Laura from ‘I Fly At Night’ are just the best, especially for ladies in recovery. Check them out! xo

    Kate

  26. Anonymous February 6, 2016 at 7:53 am Reply

    SHAIR podcast

  27. Anonymous March 6, 2016 at 1:00 am Reply

    WTF with Marc Marin isn’t focused on recovery, but as maron is sober, the subject comes up in interviews a lot. Funny show.

  28. William March 8, 2016 at 6:17 pm Reply

    addictionrecoveryradio.com has a decent podcast. They are more like a hybrid 12 step that is modified for the current world.

  29. Natalie April 30, 2016 at 12:50 am Reply

    Hey thanks for the suggestions…I’m listening to AA on air, I love it- it’s just like attending a meeting, they say the serenity prayer l, read the preambles and then have loads of great inspiring shares.
    Another one is That sober guy- it’a good but they can get a little off topic
    Xxx

  30. Cristie July 26, 2016 at 11:12 pm Reply

    This is a bit late from your post but have you tried “recovered” podcast. Its awesome

  31. Chris Aguirre August 30, 2016 at 4:47 am Reply

    Imma let you finish but the Since Right Now Podcast is one of the greatest addiction recovery podcasts of all time! Of. ALL. TIME!

    http://SinceRightNow.com/pdcst

  32. Jane Summers September 7, 2016 at 12:22 am Reply

    This podcast features the raw, unfiltered stories of addiction and recovery, straight from the people who went through it:

    http://bit.ly/2cza8fe

  33. Charlie February 14, 2017 at 4:00 am Reply

    The Way Out Podcast is a recovery podcast that shares, one episode at a time, what it was like, what happened, and what it’s like now. It’s a great listen!

    wayoutcast.com/podcasts

  34. Karl May 20, 2017 at 3:41 pm Reply

    http://www.TheRecoveryEffect.com has a pretty heavy hitting podcast. They’re on iTunes and a few other places. Great personal stories, lots of knowledge and experience.

Leave a Reply

