Sweat? That’s just your fat crying

Going to the gym with a hangover was never fun. Sometimes I look back and wonder how on earth I did it without having a heart attack or passing out or at least throwing up. I was a firm believer in sweating out a hangover. I’d often force myself to work out as a kind of punishment for drinking so much and consuming so many calories the night before.   

By comparison, going to the gym with a clear head after a great night’s sleep is pretty satisfying. It’s nice to do something that is good for myself. And I know that when I’ve been to the gym I can indulge my ice cream habit without feeling too guilty about it.

I always do a class at the gym because I need someone else to motivate me whilst I’m there. My gym has some brilliant fitness instructors who a) have bodies to die for and b) are endlessly enthusiastic about everything. Seriously – nothing gets them down. Ever. Their energy and optimism knows no bounds. They are indefatigable and I really like them for it.

A few of the instructors are fond of some, ahem, ‘inspirational’ sayings:

“You made it here, now make it worthwhile!”

“Pain is just weakness leaving the body’!”

“Sweat is just your fat crying!”

My personal favourite is one that I often hear one of the female instructors say towards the end of a class, when there’s just one more set of killer sit ups to do. “Team!” She shouts, “I’m not going to lie. The next two minutes are going to hurt. But in the grand scheme of your day, or your week, two minutes is nothing. We’re only talking about a very short amount of time here. It’s short term pain for long term gain.”

Well, I said it was cheesy. But that last one really sums up how I feel about my sobriety at the moment. There are little hurdles and tricky bits to get through. You just have to man up and get on with it. For me, a bit of short term pain might be turning down the glass of wine I’m offered at a BBQ, or having an awkward conversation with someone about my drinking. Or the moment I help myself to a drink at someone else’s house and without thinking, almost take a beer out the fridge. 

They’re just little challenges that have to be worked through and dealt with. Sometimes the thoughts are only fleeting; sometimes they last a bit longer. Short term pain for long term gain. Here the gain isn’t rock hard abs or dropping a dress size; it’s staying sober for another day. Flexing my sober muscle again and again and getting stronger. Living a sober, happy life that I’m in control of.

It seemed appropriate to write about this today because a lot of us have exercise on the brain. It seems us sober folks are a pretty fit bunch. There are lots of runners and many people setting targets with the aptly named Gym & Tonic. Personally, my goal is to get ready for a half marathon next month. I’ve run ten miles so this is just a bit further, but I’d really like to enjoy this race and not white-knuckle it round. So I bought myself a very appropriate treat this week – new trainers.

trainers

Fingers crossed they have magic powers 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Sweat? That’s just your fat crying

  1. theimprobablerunner August 9, 2013 at 10:10 pm Reply

    In my gym the gyms just scream ‘gains’ and ‘miring’ at each other. In yours they can manage whole sentences, feel proud!

  2. theimprobablerunner August 9, 2013 at 10:11 pm Reply

    the guys, sorry typo

  3. Lilly August 10, 2013 at 1:29 am Reply

    LOVE IT!

  4. FitFatFood August 10, 2013 at 8:20 am Reply

    Great analogy- the short term pain of not drinking is so fleeting, and you get the same feel good buzz as exercise once you’ve made it out of the “danger zone”

  5. carrieonsober August 10, 2013 at 8:08 pm Reply

    It really is like that. It’s damn hard sometimes, but mostly, it’s just a bit of an inconvenience and it is ALWAYS worth it!
    When I get the cravings now and I ride them out and then they are gone, I look back at what an easy pushover I was before the 100 day challenge and all of this resolve that I found, here, there and everywhere, once I really started looking for it. I gave in so readily before when it came to alcohol temptations and yet, like you and the gym etc I am so hard on myself in every other area, I give 110%. Love the fat crying quote, gonna recite that in my head on my next run…here’s to a little gym and tonic over the weekend!
    I am so glad to see that you are having a easier time of it just now…
    C x

  6. Rebecca A. Watson August 10, 2013 at 8:27 pm Reply

    This is great. I did some trail running today and seriously, my fat was crying, but really they were tears of joy for the most part. And you’re so right about the short term pain for the long term goal. I can’t remember a craving ever lasting that long so why give in so easily? Especially when the benefits are so awesome. Glad to be a part of Gym and Tonic!

  7. lifecorked August 11, 2013 at 4:19 am Reply

    Love this! I was the same way – used to “punish” myself with a workout after a big night of drinking. Ugh. I don’t miss those days at all. I love how you compare those hurdles in sobriety with the pain at the gym – I can totally relate! Need to remember that next time something crops up. Great post!

  8. byebyebeer August 13, 2013 at 6:29 pm Reply

    Pretty shoes!

    My favorite way to start the day is with a run or other exercise. That high is the complete opposite of a hangover.

    Also, love the title on this post.

  9. Vadim February 26, 2016 at 11:05 am Reply

    Accidentally read this article by typing “sweat is fat crying” in google.
    Doing the same thing here and now. Been sober for 5 months, didn’t smoke for 3 months, started running 3 weeks ago. Feel great, excited and determined.
    Always nice to find people, who are going the same direction You are. So never minding the age of this post, I would like to say, I hope that You are still going strong and wish You good day! You have my respect

    P.S. Nike running app is great for runs. Even better and more fun than Endomondo.
    Cheers from Latvia

Leave a Reply

