Stop drinking, save electricity

Thanks for all the comments on my last blog. I am feeling much better. I suppose in the grand scale of things I was never feeling that bad, because lets face it, a couple of bad sober days are never as bad as drunk, hungover ones… But still, it’s good to be out of that place.

One thing that kept me going when everything else failed was the idea of having to reset my sobriety app. Honestly, it’s ridiculous how much I love that app. It really appeals to the perfectionist in me and I would hate to go back to Day 1. I’ve always been the kind of person who does something really well or not at all. (So I suspect if I did relapse I’d apply the same logic and would go on a huge bender).

Sometimes I forget to check the app for a while, or I work nights and get a bit lost with the days, and it’s always so nice to check it and see that it’s just been quietly counting away. (Day 120 by the way)

I am reading the Sober Revolution by Lucy Rocca at the moment (thanks for the suggestion Lily). Lucy set up Soberistas – a website I stumbled across last December. It was one of those ‘ah ha’ moments when I realised that other people drank exactly the way I did and were worried about it too. In fact some people seemed to drink less than me but they’d decided to stop anyway. It was enlightening.  

Lucy’s book is really, really good and I’d recommend it to anyone who’s thinking of stopping drinking, or who needs a reminder of why it’s a brilliant thing to do. I love the way she compares alcohol to a bad boyfriend – you keep going back for more even though he’s making you feel like shit.

Here’s a piece of good news to end on. A few days ago I got my electricity bill for May to the beginning of August (I pay mine quarterly). I was sorting it out online when I noticed that it was thirty quid cheaper than last year’s bill. Same flat, exact same time period, same payment plan. In fact I think if anything, electricity bills have gone up since then, haven’t they?

Probably after I’ve posted this I’ll remember that I got rid of some huge, energy guzzling appliance in April… But I’m sure I didn’t. And I haven’t suddenly become really energy conscious. I went away for a week in June, but I did that last year too. Last summer the weather was rubbish but I didn’t have the heating on or anything like that. So there can only be one conclusion folks: getting sober reduces your electricity bills.

When I was drunk I did have a habit of putting things in the (electric) oven and then passing out, waking much later to discover burnt food. I’d also have the TV on for hours and hours. I was either drinking and watching TV or I was slumped in front of it hungover, watching mindless rubbish.

Nowadays I actually remember to turn the oven off. I don’t watch as much crap TV either. My newfound ability to Get Things Done means that even if I’m at home all evening I probably won’t sit in front of the TV all night because I’ll have other things to do.

So, there you have it – one benefit you probably hadn’t considered before!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Stop drinking, save electricity

  1. Lilly August 5, 2013 at 12:12 am Reply

    Ha, ha HA HA. That totally made me laugh. Is there no end to the unforeseen positives that sobriety can bring? Reduced electricity bills – who knew?! Glad you are loving Lucy’s book too. I’m halfway through and it really speaks to me. I love the positivity too – just what I needed to read right now.

    Hey, which app do you use anyway? I just have a general day counting ‘I quit X’ one but one specific to drinking would be fab. I know just what you mean – the quit smoking app I used really helped me too for all the same reasons.

    Sooo glad you’re lifting out of the funk hon. New horizons ahead! 120 days is amazeballs!

    • soberjournalist August 5, 2013 at 12:58 pm Reply

      I use one called One Day At A Timer… it sounds pretty similar to yours. You can use it for smoking and drugs too, you just pick your addiction! I’ve got another app too called Friend of Bill but that counts in months and days, which I don’t find as satisfying!

  2. Mrs D August 5, 2013 at 1:28 am Reply

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. It is very good that you have stopped drinking. xxx

  3. runningfromthebooze August 5, 2013 at 3:52 am Reply

    I can’t wait to get my utility bill this month 🙂 I’m curious about that app, too.
    I like how you were able to put your bad days in perspective and I toooooootally agree that a couple of bad sober days are better than bad days when I was drinking.

  4. carrieonsober August 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm Reply

    I will tell my husband that when I come home with my next sober treat – I think I’m overdoing them at the moment! That is brilliant though, it really is a win win. Congrats on feeling better and 120 days!! X

  5. Rebecca A. Watson August 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm Reply

    This is a great post. Super happy you’re feeling better 🙂 Like you said, the worst days sober are better than the best days drinking. We’re lucky bunnies! Congrats on 120 days!

  6. byebyebeer August 9, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    Ha, can totally relate to how motivating that sober counter is once you start wracking up the days. Whatever works. Also remember passing out with frozen potpies in the oven, or trying not to. In addition to the energy suck, I really was eating terribly. Glad you’re feeling better!

  7. […] Stop drinking, save electricity (soberjournalist.wordpress.com) […]

  8. R Ballinger June 15, 2014 at 11:34 pm Reply

    16 weeks wine free and loving every minute ! Wine and I had a very close intimate relationship , it was a true stalwart of support always there ready chilled awaiting my return to celebrate with me on great days and console on the bad ones. Like all close relationships we had our bumpy times , one too many glasses and I would feel like death . Hangovers were becoming more and more frequent, heart palpitations and anxiety attacks an ever present menace and my skin had lost its vitality and glow . After a particularly heavy session one Sunday in February -the after effects which took three days to ease – I decided that our relationship need some out time . As the days rolled by I began to feel more energised , relaxed and calm . Days turned to weeks and I developed new daily routines which didn’t include my old mucker Pinot Grigio , I realised that our friendship was no longer a requirement for a fulfilling life . Will I ever drink again ? At the present it’s a definite no ! Pinot Grigio and I are now no longer an item!!!!

Leave a Reply

