Ignorance

If you don’t live in the UK, you may not be familiar with joys of the Daily Mail. Often referred to as the Daily Hate or the Daily Wail, it is the one paper guaranteed to make me VERY annoyed. Unfortunately, it has quite a good celebrity gossip website and too often I find myself reading articles about some z-lister’s post-baby body in an attempt to put off whatever it is I’m meant to be doing.

Anyway… I was doing just that as I found this article today.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2355200/The-latest-way-women-Sobering-binning-booze.html

What do you all think? Personally, in my life away from AA and away from the sober blogosphere I don’t think sobriety is really a growing trend. As for it being “the latest way for women to show off”. Purlleeease. Give me a break. If that were true then I would be shouting about my sobriety from the rooftops! I’d stop worrying about what to tell my friends and family. I stop writing an anonymous blog, I’d post my photo on here and I’d buy a badge that said HELLO WORLD! I’M ON DAY 89!

 Arggh. Deep breath. Rant over.

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Ignorance

  1. Lilly July 4, 2013 at 11:01 am Reply

    It is very weird just how many time the author mentions the word competitive. So many times I’d say this stems from some personal issue of feeling judged by some friend(s) who quit and were being dicks about it.

    “Last month, former Tory MP and mother-of-three Louise Mensch, 41, heralded the dawn of this new era of competitive sobriety by pronouncing that she was no longer “self-medicating” with booze to cope with stress, before opining (rather smugly) that: ‘It’s a sign of a problem if you feel the need to have an evening drink.’

    Blech. If we all began talking like that we’d have no friends left to worry about what they thought of our drinking or not.

    I wish it was a growing trend but I’m unconvinced. I do think that things like Dry July and Hello Sunday Morning here in Australia are creating more socially acceptable reasons not to drink but it’s telling that you need a reason in the first place. I certainly think there’s still, by in large, a big stigma around alcoholism and not drinking. Even friends who are intelligent, aware people who you’d think would know better have said dumb shit to me like “I never trust people who don’t drink” or “Well, it’s not like you’re an alcoholic or anything.”

    Also, 89 days??!! FABULOUS! 90 tomorrow, which everyone says is a turning point, and then rock on to 100! Well done you. How do you feel? Have you a special treat planned yet?

    xx

    • soberjournalist July 4, 2013 at 1:17 pm Reply

      I’m hoping something magical will happen overnight and boom – I’ll wake up feeling really different tomorrow! Not that I’m feeling bad or anything, I just thought I’d feel more ‘different’ by this stage. The days seem to be ticking by quite quickly. When I reach a 100 days I am planning on celebrating by spending £100 on something – not sure what yet!

  2. Lilly July 5, 2013 at 1:40 am Reply

    HAPPY 90 DAYS!!! Amazeballs!!! Glittery unicorn parade coming through for you… toot, toot…

    Ah, I do know that feeling, but don’t discount all the small lovely changes that have occurred either. Like, you’re probably far enough away from the hangovers etc you’re starting to forget how shit they were but early on enough the improvements may be subtle. Maybe take some time to write down what they are exactly? Better sleep? Feeling happier? Saved money? Etc. Like the idea of the £100 treat! Be sure to post pics.

    You know what they say, ‘don’t quit before the miracle happens’. You’re doing great. Just keep going.

  3. runningonsober July 5, 2013 at 4:25 pm Reply

    I had a good laugh at:
    ‘Since I’ve stopped drinking 18 pounds has just fallen off and I’ve gone from a size 16 to a size 12 – my mum tells me I look like a different woman.’

    Bleh. When I quit drinking, I gained twenty pounds. May have been from the pound of sugar I ate every day instead, dunno! It came off with all the running, but it didn’t fall off and it wasn’t easy.

    I think the writer was trying to make something up that wasn’t there. I didn’t see much competition from the women profiled, just women trying to get their lives back straight.

    I’ve thought a lot that it seems to be trendy to go to rehab and stuff, but I think in the States there’s just more people talking about it.

    Interesting article, but I wouldn’t let it anger you for too long. Just a writer trying to stir up shit, I think.

    Congrats on 89!!!

    • soberjournalist July 6, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

      Yes I think most of the articles on that website are written just to provoke a reaction!

      I also laughed at the bit about the weight loss – I have lost some weight, very slowly, but my Ben and Jerry’s / magnum ice cream hasn’t exactly helped matters!

  4. Mrs D July 5, 2013 at 10:25 pm Reply

    I suppose there can be competitive people out there who treat their non-drinking as competitive.. just as there are competitive people who compete about their children’s sporting prowess, or the size of their car .. or whatever the fuck ever they want to compete about. Frankly I’d rather belong to a sober world full of love and support and warmth and compassion. It’s not ‘how does my sobriety compare with yours’…. it’s more ‘come jump in the sobriety pool, there’s room for everyone, it’s warm and friendly and fun!. Ok these are some tragic analogies but yeah.. that article stinks. (have to admit to a nasty Mail Online habit.. must break it.. must .. must).. Congratulations on 90 days!! Almost 100!! Got anything planned? xxx

    • soberjournalist July 6, 2013 at 9:43 am Reply

      I like the sound of this sobriety pool… it must be where all the cool people hang out. I was really pleased to get to 90 days, bring on 100! (Where has the time gone?) I’m not sure how I’ll celebrate it but it’ll probably involve buying something very expensive! Xx

  5. me-fixing-me February 22, 2015 at 10:40 am Reply

    what a great post. admire you.

Leave a Reply

