Things I hated about drinking

I was given some homework to do at the Allen Carr clinic on Friday. It was to go home and write down all things I hated about drinking, using the past tense. So here we go:

– I hated waking up in the middle of the night, hot, dehydrated and unable to sleep

– I hated being hungover and the way it made me feel so ill and depressed

– I hated the time drink stole from me. The lost hours drinking and recovering from drinking

– I hated how bad drink made my skin look

– I hated feeling guilty and disgusted with myself for failing again and again

– I hated feeling like I wasn’t normal

– I hated having to be so secretive about everything

11 thoughts on “Things I hated about drinking

  1. Lilly April 22, 2013 at 3:03 am Reply

    Oooh I feel for you Kate. My list would be *exactly* the same. Add in the money spent and the shame and guilt about stupid things done while drunk. The messiness. The loss of control. I’m so glad you’re doing the clinic again and blogging about it. It’s instructive and interesting for us all! Carr’s Quit Smoking book really helped me quit smoking. For some reason I just didn’t connect with the drinking book that much, but all the ideas behind it are really sound. I’m cheering you on.

    • soberjournalist April 22, 2013 at 9:23 am Reply

      Ah I knew as soon as I published this I’d think of more – the loss of control and the money should be on there! I’ve never been a smoker so I haven’t compared the books, but I read somewhere that Allen Carr was a smoker but not a drinker. He wrote the smoking book after he gave up and then adapted it for alcohol. Maybe that’s the problem?

  2. carrythemessage April 22, 2013 at 3:29 am Reply

    Oh Lordy my list would keep going and going…but it would start with some of those things you have there. Amazing when we stand back and look at it all, we know that we just kept going at it anyway. That’s pure insanity, isn’t it? But that’s the disease (or however else you want to describe it).

    Good on ya for keeping at this 🙂

    Paul

    • soberjournalist April 22, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

      Yes I might have to update this list as I keep thinking of other things to add…!

  3. Lilly April 22, 2013 at 10:22 am Reply

    Yes, re the Carr book, that’s exactly the problem I had with it. It *felt* like it was just adapted for alcohol by basically substituting ‘cigarettes’ for ‘alcohol’ with no real new insight. And while there are similarities there are also some important differences. Vale’s book hit home a little more – I suspect because he was actually a problem drinker – though they’re very similar. I still found it annoying. But then, I found Carr very annoying but the thinking behind it really did help. I think the philosophy may just work better for smokes than booze but not to distract from the course because I still think it’s a great thing to be doing and can only help – another tool in the arsenal.

    I’m sure we could go on with the list… the low self esteem. The black outs. The embarrassment. The inappropriate behaviour. The stomach issues. Vomiting. The unhealthy crap food eaten late at night after drinking or the greasy fry up you need the morning after. The weight gain. The bloating. Some more of mine anyway.

  4. christinawoods April 23, 2013 at 3:40 pm Reply

    I relate to all the points you mentioned. Especially :

    – I hated being hungover and the way it made me feel so ill and depressed

    – I hated the time drink stole from me. The lost hours drinking and recovering from drinking

    – I hated feeling guilty and disgusted with myself for failing again and again

    – I hated feeling like I wasn’t normal

    The guilt and depression is just terrible! After a binge I would not move from my bed, feeling so low, asking myself why it happened again! The disgust also, not remembering what had happened, and the shame to ask to the people who were there. Thanks for listing all that, every point is just so true.

    I am also going on 30 and really DO NOT want to get out of this shitty scheme.

    • soberjournalist April 23, 2013 at 5:03 pm Reply

      Hi Christina, it seems like we have a lot in common! I relate to a lot of the stuff you’ve written too, especially when it comes to trying to maintain some kind of social life without alcohol…. have you heard of Belle’s 100 day challenge? Personally I’ve found the idea of 100 days easier to cope with than stopping ‘forever’. There are more details here if you’re interested: http://tiredofthinkingaboutdrinking.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/100-day-challenge/

      • christinawoods April 23, 2013 at 7:52 pm

        Thanks I subscribed to the challenge! We can do this! Will follow your posts that is for sure!

      • soberjournalist April 23, 2013 at 8:36 pm

        That’s great! We CAN do this!

  5. Carrie April 23, 2013 at 10:40 pm Reply

    Hi Kate
    I am in the Uk too if you want a team 100, sober penal in the same time zone? Carriecisfree@gmail.com
    X

  6. problemdrinker30 January 12, 2016 at 1:06 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on problemdrinker30 and commented:
    Things to remember!

Leave a Reply

