A boozy baby shower

You might think that a baby shower would be a booze free event. Possibly a glass or two of champagne to toast the mum-to-be but nothing more. Well, the shower I went to last night was nothing like that. It was really an excuse for a great big party, and I think it was the biggest test of my sobriety so far.

I haven’t exactly been living like a hermit since I stopped drinking but I have been avoiding events where I would normally drink. Last night was something I really couldn’t get out of and besides, part of me did want to go.

I started to panic when I realised the invite said please bring a bottle. I know the hostess well and she’s the type who makes sure your glass is never empty. Getting a soft drink out of her would be a lot harder than ordering one in a pub. Then there was talk of going to a few bars after the party. All this was swirling faster and faster round my head. A little voice said: you are going to miss out if you don’t drink. Why don’t you just have one. It’s not fair that everyone else can drink. It’s not like you’re the one who’s pregnant!

Thankfully Belle made me realise that this was just the wolf talking. I think it’s Unpickled who calls this her Itty Bitty Shitty committee. I like both these descriptions. Personally I imagine the alcoholic devil on my shoulder looking and sounding a bit like Smeagol from Lord of the Rings. Come here my precious…     

The thought of some half-naked Hobbit trying to derail my sobriety seemed so ridiculous I decided I would go to the party. I pushed the bad thoughts to the back of my mind and somehow I ended up having a BRILLIANT time.

I helped myself to a diet coke and made sure my glass was never empty. I think only one person asked why I wasn’t drinking. I said I was too tired to stomach any wine, as I’d just come off a run of night shifts, which was actually true. It was so nice being able to chat with friends without worrying about how much wine I had left in my glass, and whether or not anyone would think I was greedy if I topped it up myself. I didn’t mind that people got tipsy and giggly and a bit silly. I haven’t laughed so much in ages. I stayed quite late but left before anyone got really drunk or boring drunk. 

Looking at the photos posted on Facebook I have to say I looked pretty good (even though I was dog tired). I know this sounds like a big-headed, vain thing to say. But until today, the most recent photo of me on Facebook was taken on the 6th April at a lunch with some girlfriends. It was my first day sober and I was still very hungover from the night before. In that photo my face looks puffy and my eyes are tiny, even though I’m wearing a lot of make up. I’m wearing a baggy top to hide my bloated stomach. I’m smiling in the photo but I remember feeling so horrible and not really wanting to be there.

What a difference 12 days make!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “A boozy baby shower

  1. Drunky Drunk Girl April 18, 2013 at 6:09 pm Reply

    YES! Congrats! Hilarious description of Smeagol as your wolf-voice, btw! LOVE it. This is a huge deal, and you should be dancing the “I’m so awesome” dance. You don’t have to listen to that voice, and you proved that to yourself. Way to go. xx

  2. Mrs D April 19, 2013 at 1:07 am Reply

    Love it!! Feel smug my friend, very smug. Yay for you. I went to a hilarious tupperware party where people were getting all flushed and kicking glasses over and I was so nervous but only had my usual non-alcoholic and sure enough had a lovely night and felt SO GREAT driving home and waking up the next day! Yes! xxxx

    • soberjournalist April 19, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

      Thank you, it is a great feeling. I like the sound of this Tupperware party btw – sounds a lot more interesting than the ones we have here! x

  3. carrythemessage April 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm Reply

    I sometimes have to remember that not everyone is a dull middle aged dude with family like me, and that people have social lives with adults…lol. So I didn’t have as many challenges in that department as compared to someone who is younger and more outgoing than I am. So of course there are things you are being invited to and no doubt want to go to. So having said that, I think it is wise of you to be avoiding certain places or people early in your sobriety. I had to avoid certain places and people as well early on. I needed to protect my sobriety, as you need to yours. A few hurt feelings is fine when it comes to your life. And alcoholism takes lives! So, Ms. Not a Hermit, it sounds like you did well there. The one thing The Voice will tell us sometimes, is that “see? you can do this sober thing. You’re the queen! You’re not an alcoholic or have a problem. It’s just a misunderstanding is all. Now…how about a glass to celebrate?” So be careful! I say this from experience. Ego rebuilds quickly.

    (Excuse the pedantic tone there at the end…just pointing out a jagged rock that often comes up at this part of the path…lol)

    Great post…glad to be following so early on!

    Paul

  4. Drunk on Sauv February 21, 2014 at 9:06 pm Reply

    OMG! I have just come across your blog (I am only on day 5) and I just wrote yesterday about “that little devil, hate that little devil” who is perched on my shoulder. I am so happy and thankful I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

